h1

Symbolic Lines in Nested Families

October 27, 2011

I ran into an interesting glitch in Revit 2011 while I was creating a nested family.  The primary family was categorized as Specialty Equipment which was then nested into a Specialty Equipment Wall based family.  This piece of equipment typically is mounted above the plan cut  elevation so I wanted some symbolic lines to represent the family as hidden above.

For some reason none of the symbolic lines would show up in my project, so after some head scratching I decided to throw in some model lines.  All of a sudden I could see both model and symbolic lines.  I then took out the model lines and all the symbolic lines disappeared, go figure.  Consequently I had to leave a very small model line discretely hidden in the family to get my symbolics to activate.

Also if you are interested in how to develop a nested family, Patrick at CADsoft posted a nice how to at this link.

Enjoy
Carl

One comment

  1. Instead of a ‘very small’ model line, you could just set it to an Invisible model line and it should have the same effect. This pulls the family into the visible range of the view, thus activating the symbolic lines.



Leave a Reply

